win > < win

By Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

“We are in this crazy, unforeseen and incomprehensible situation where we are competing against jellyfish. And they are winning,” says the Australian marine biologist and jellyfish expert Lisa-Ann Gershwin.

For at least 670 million years, jellyfish have been floating – unchanged – through our oceans, and pretty much everything that damages our ecosystem seems to benefit them: overfishing brings down the number of predatory fish that could reduce the number of jellyfish. Plastic bags in the oceans kill other predators like turtles. On top of that, jellyfish flourish in warm water; it extends their breeding season, while many fish suffer from the lower oxygen percentage. “Warm water is a disaster for anything that breathes and a dream come true for anything that doesn’t breathe much, like jellyfish” Gershwin says.
In the beginning of last year, a massive jellyfish invasion threatened to wipe out the fish population of the South Australian seaport Whylla, and another temporarily paralyzed the nuclear power plant in Swedish Oskarshamn when jellyfish plugged up the cooling water supply….
Marine scientists have thus arrived at an apocalyptic prognosis: “Jellyfish will be the only survivors when everything else has fallen apart.”
In collaboration with marine biologists and animal keepers, Rimini Protokoll is flipping the view of these creatures around and staging it as a gaze directed back at their observers.


win > < win is an installation piece commissioned for the exhibition "After the End of the World” curated by José Luis de Vicente. Produced by CCCB (Barcelona) in Co-Production with FACT+BLUECOAT+RIBA NORTH (Liverpool).

By: Helgard Kim Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel
With: Jamileh Javidpour (Geomar Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research)
Daniel Strozynski (Zoo Berlin | Aquarium Berlin | Tierpark Berlin)
Lisa Ann Gershwin (Author of "Stung! On Jellyfish Blooms and the Future of the Ocean“, Hobart, Australia)
Boris Koch (Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research)
and others

Architecture: Guillermo Santoma
Technical Director: Alejandro Olariaga
Sound and Synchronisation: Carlos Gómez
Production and Coordination: CCCB
Coordination Rimini Protokoll: Maitén Arns

win > < win

Von Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

„Wir sind in der verrückten, unerwarteten und unverständlichen Situation, dass wir im Wettbewerb mit den Quallen stehen. Und sie sind dabei, zu gewinnen“, sagt die australische Meeresbiologin und Quallen-Expertin Lisa-Ann Gershwin.

Seit mindestens 670 Millionen Jahren schweben die Quallen - unverändert - durch unsere Weltmeere und fast alles, was Schaden an unserem Ökosystem anrichtet, scheint den Quallen gut zu tun: Die Überfischung der Meere sorgt dafür, dass es weniger Raubfische gibt, die die Quallen reduzieren könnten. Plastiktüten im Wasser töten weitere Fressfeinde wie die Schildkröten. Zudem blühen Quallen in wärmerem Wasser auf. Denn das verlängert ihre Brutsaison, während viele Fische durch den geringeren Sauerstoffanteil im Wasser leiden. „Wärmeres Wasser ist ein Desaster für alles, was atmet und ein Traum für alles, das nicht groß atmet wie die Quallen“, sagt Gershwin.

So drohten Anfang letzten Jahres massive Quallen-Invasionen die Fischbestände der südaustralischen Hafenstadt Whyalla auszulöschen und legten vorübergehend das schwedische Atomkraftwerk in Oskarshamn lahm, weil sie die Kühlwasserzufuhr des Reaktors verstopften...

Meeresforscher kommen deshalb zu einer apokalyptische Prognose: „Quallen sind die Letzten, die noch übrig sein werden, wenn alles andere zerfällt.“
In Zusammenarbeit mit Meeresbiologen und Tierpflegern inszeniert Rimini Protokoll den Blick auf diese Lebewesen als Blick zurück auf deren Beobachter.

 

Die Installation win > < win wurde 2017 produziert vom CCCB (Barcelona) in Ko-Produktion mit FACT+BLUECOAT+RIBA NORTH (Liverpool), im Rahmen der Ausstellung „After the End of the World“ (kuratiert von José Luis de Vicente). Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Folkwang Universität Essen.

Konzept, Regie und Komposition: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel
Mit: Jamileh Javidpour (Geomar Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung)
Daniel Strozynski (Zoo Berlin | Aquarium Berlin | Tierpark Berlin)
Lisa Ann Gershwin (Autorin von "Stung! On Jellyfish Blooms and the Future of the Ocean“, Hobart, Australien)
Boris Koch (Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung
u.a.

Architektur: Guillermo Santoma
Technischer Leiter: Alejandro Olariaga
Sound-Synchronisation: Carlos Gómez, Andreas Mihan

Stimmen für die deutsche Synchronisation: Béla Haug, Vassilis Koukalani, Eva Maria Sommersberg, Zoï Wetzel
Produktion und Koordination: CCCB
Koordination Rimini Protokoll: Maitén Arns