Unboxing Past

By Helgard Haug

For 34 years, the Archaeological Museum Frankfurt has stored 513 grey archive boxes in its depot. 105 of them bear the inscription "Börneplatzsynagoge", the others are labelled "Judengasse".
 
In 1987 and 1990, construction work in Frankfurt's city centre uncovered the foundations of the synagogue destroyed during the November pogroms of 1938, as well as buildings dating from the Baroque period in the former Judengasse, the first ghetto in Germany. All of the artefacts found there were excavated, placed in boxes and archived, but then not examined any further.
In mid-2020, archaeologist Thorsten Sonnemann began opening the boxes and systematically examining the contents. He has since been measuring, numbering, photographing, inspecting, analysing and taking inventory of these stones, tiles, shards, utensils and everyday objects as well as parts of the brutally destroyed Torah shrine.
 
"Unboxing Past" is an artistic project that, for the first time in the history of a significant archaeological process, meticulously accompanies the opening of archive boxes and the associated work by the archaeologist using three cameras and an audio recording device.
"Unboxing Past" is also a digital meeting place and archive room created in cooperation with the Motion Bank project at the Mainz University of Applied Sciences. It brings a wide variety of people together in small groups to engage with the recorded materials.
 
Unlike the archaeologist Sonnemann, the members of this group approach and work in their own distinct ways on a conceivable future for the stones. Instead of a yardstick and scales, they have fundamental questions guiding them: How do we remember? What do we need to remember? How can the history of these fragments and the human crimes associated with them be communicated to others? And above all: How can stones be made to speak?
 
With the archaeologist Dr Thorsten Sonnemann
Concept, Direction: Helgard Haug
Dramaturgy: Moritz von Rappard
Film-Editing: Juan Pablo Bedoya
Room Construction: Hagen Bonifer
Video Set-Up: Yannic Bill
Digitisation: Motion Bank
 
Unboxing Past by Helgard Haug/Rimini Protokoll is a project supported by “experimente#digital - a cultural initiative of the Aventis Foundation”, as part of METAhub Frankfurt in cooperation with the Motion Bank project at the Mainz University of Applied Sciences. The “METAhub Frankfurt - Museums, Education, Theatre, Arts - Culture in Digital and Urban Space” project is a cooperation between the Jewish Museum Frankfurt, the Archaeological Museum Frankfurt and Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in partnership with the NODE Verein zur Förderung Digitaler Kultur e.V. and is funded by the Digital Culture programme of the Federal Cultural Foundation Germany, by the Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain and with funds from the Department of Culture and Science of the City of Frankfurt am Main.

Unboxing Past

Von Helgard Haug

Seit 34 Jahren lagern 513 graue Archivkartons im Depot des Archäologischen Museum Frankfurt. 105 von ihnen tragen die Aufschrift “Börneplatzsynagoge”, auf den anderen steht “Judengasse”.
 
In den Jahren 1987 und 1990 waren bei Bauarbeiten in der Frankfurter Innenstadt Fundamente der bei den Novemberpogromen 1938 zerstörten Synagoge freigelegt worden sowie von noch aus der Barockzeit stammenden Gebäuden der ehemaligen Judengasse, dem ersten Ghetto in Deutschland. Sämtliche Funde wurden geborgen und in Kartons abgelegt, aber nach einer raschen Archivierung nicht wieder angegangen.
 
Mitte 2020 hat der Archäologe Thorsten Sonnemann begonnen, die Kartons zu öffnen und den Inhalt systematisch zu erfassen. So vermisst, nummeriert, fotografiert, betrachtet, analysiert und inventarisiert er Steine, Kacheln, Scherben, Gebrauchs- und Alltagsgegenstände, sowie auch Teile des brutal zerstörten Toraschreins.
 
“Unboxing Past” ist ein künstlerisches Projekt, dass erstmals in der Geschichte bedeutender archäologischer Vorgänge die Öffnung der Archivkartons und die damit verbundenen Arbeitsprozesse des Archäologen mit drei Kameras und einem Audioaufnahmegerät akribisch begleitet.
 
“Unboxing Past” ist darüber hinaus ein digitaler Begegnungs- und Archivraum, der in Kooperation mit dem Projekt Motion Bank an der Hochschule Mainz entsteht. Unterschiedlichste Menschen werden in kleinen Gruppen zur Auseinandersetzung mit den Aufnahmen zusammenkommen.
 
Anders als der Archäologe Sonnemann arbeiten sie mit ihren ganz eigenen Mitteln an einer denkbaren Zukunft der Steine. Statt Zollstock und Waage dienen ihnen Leitfragen zur Orientierung: Wie erinnern wir? Was brauchen wir zur Erinnerung? Wie lässt sich die Geschichte dieser Bruchstücke und der mit ihnen verbundenen, menschlichen Verbrechen vermitteln? Und vor allem: Wie können Steine zum Sprechen gebracht werden?
 
mit dem Archäologen Dr. Thorsten Sonnemann
Konzept, Regie: Helgard Haug
Dramaturgie: Moritz von Rappard
film editing Filmschnitt: Juan Pablo Bedoya
Raumausbau: Hagen Bonifer
Videoeinrichtung: Yannic Bill
Digitalisierung: Motion Bank
 
Unboxing Past von Helgard Haug/Rimini Protokoll ist ein Projekt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch “experimente#digital – eine Kulturinitiative der Aventis Foundation”, im Rahmen von METAhub Frankfurt in Kooperation mit dem Projekt Motion Bank an der Hochschule Mainz. „METAhub Frankfurt - Museums, Education, Theatre, Arts - Kultur im digitalen und städtischen Raum“ ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Jüdischen Museums Frankfurt, des Archäologischen Museums Frankfurt und des Künstlerhauses Mousonturm in Partnerschaft mit dem NODE Verein zur Förderung Digitaler Kultur e.V. und wird gefördert im Programm Kultur Digital der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, durch den Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain sowie durch Mittel des Dezernats für Kultur und Wissenschaft der Stadt Frankfurt am Main.