Mirror Neurons

A documentary dance production with audiences

By Stefan Kaegi / Sascha Waltz & Guests

This piece is an experiment, conducted anew in every performance. It revolves around the human brain and its relationship with the body. The audience is an essential part of the experiment, because its members are invited not only to watch the dancers but also to find their own groove, to participate from their seats as an active part of a collective system, and to feel the sensation of belonging to a vast hive brain.

Spiegelneuronen (Mirror Neurons) marks the first joint project with Sasha Waltz & Guests. Following on from Andrew Schneider’s remains in 2020, this project continues the dance company’s openness to new styles as well as its commitment to broaden its repertory through artistic exploration and interdisciplinary cooperation with international artists. The collectives come from markedly different artistic directions, but are equally interested in the unconventional use of space and in interdisciplinary work. In this first collaboration, Stefan Kaegi will join forces with both the dancers from Sasha Waltz & Guests and the audience for an exploration of the relationship between the individual and society, conducted through the medium of dance in front of a large mirror.

Mirrors have a long tradition in ballet rehearsal rooms. Historically, their function was mainly prescriptive, serving to perfect the corps de ballet: a synchronized throng of dancers disciplined and drilled into one big organism. It’s no wonder that the mirror experienced a loss of status amid the growing focus on the individual and the rise of subjective freedom in modern and contemporary dance. This documentary dance performance now turns the mirror back onto the members of the audience and includes them in the experiment as a subject of observation.

For the purposes of this performance, a mirror will be installed where the stage usually is. It will not only reflect the dancers but also the entire seating area and the audience, like a giant selfie. The auditorium is therefore where the action happens, recalling the acts of performance art created by Dan Graham in the 1970s. Through its interaction with the dancers, the audience itself is brought to the forefront of the choreographed movement and caught up in the process of ‘embodying’ complex images.

Neuroscientists believe that our nervous system is not centrally controlled but that different areas of the brain are in constant communication with each other, comparable to the non-linear and decentralized algorithms operating within a computer system, which respond to changing context while collecting and processing information. How exactly this happens remains a matter of speculation, even for science. New mechanisms are constantly being discovered, such as mirror neurons in the early 1990s. These neurons cause a similar pattern of brain stimulation regardless of whether we perform an action ourselves or observe the same action done by another person. Although difficult to identify in humans, mirror neurons could be a key to explaining empathy and mutual understanding.

The documentary research for this dance performance draws on concepts from the fields of neuroscience, biology, sociology and artificial intelligence. These will not only be heard and reflected upon, but also experienced and related to. Perhaps the audience will even anticipate or try to evade them. All this takes place as a tangible feeling coursing through one’s own body, bringing audience members together as one big community. The spectators will observe the experiment from a central vantage point, as they watch themselves and the performers via the mirror.

By channelling pulses of movement, a large group of people sat together can become networked in a model-like approximation of the brain. This dynamic tableau is accompanied by a specially composed musical arrangement featuring audio recordings of cognitive researchers. The audience will per-ceive the scenery becoming intertwined with their thoughts, illustrating or counteracting them, completing or refuting them. With varying reactions each night, no two performances are the same.

 

Concept and direction: Stefan Kaegi
Music: Tobias Koch
Stage: Dominic Huber
Video: Mikko Gaestel
Dramaturgy: Silke Bake
Dancers: Melissa Kieffer, Dominique McDougal, Orlando Rodriguez, László Sandig, Claudia de Serpa Soares, Wibke Storkan a. o.
 
A production by Sasha Waltz & Guests in co-production with Rimini Protokoll.
A co-production with Salzburger Festspielen and Tanz Köln.

Spiegelneuronen

Ein dokumentarischer Tanzabend mit Publikum

Von Stefan Kaegi / Sascha Waltz & Guests

Dieses Stück ist ein Experiment. In jeder Aufführung von neuem. Es geht um das menschliche Gehirn und sein Verhältnis zum Körper. Das Publikum ist ein wesentlicher Teil des Experiments, denn es ist eingeladen, nicht nur Tanz zu beobachten, sondern sich auch selbst zu bewegen, von seinem Sitzplatz aus als aktiver Teil eines gemeinsamen Systems zu agieren, sich selbst als Teil einer Art großen Gehirns zu erleben.

Spiegelneuronen ist die erste Zusammenarbeit mit Sasha Waltz & Guests. Damit setzt die Tanzcompagnie die Öffnung für neue Handschriften sowie ihr Interesse an künstlerischer Recherche und genreübergreifender Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Künstler*innen zur Erweiterung ihres Repertoires fort. Aus sehr unterschiedlichen Richtungen kommend, interessieren sich beide Compagnien für die ungewöhnliche Bespielung von Räumen sowie die interdisziplinäre Arbeit. Nun untersucht Stefan Kaegi gemeinsam mit Tänzer*innen von Sasha Waltz & Guests sowie dem Publikum das Verhältnis zwischen Individuum und Gesellschaft mit den Mitteln des Tanzes vor einem großen Spiegel.

Spiegel haben in Ballettproberäumen eine lange Tradition. Historisch hatten sie dort vor allem eine normative Funktion, dienten sie doch der Perfektionierung des Corps de Ballet, einem durch Disziplin und Drill synchronisierten Gesamtkörper aus einem ganzen Chor von Tänzer*innen. Kein Wunder, dass dieser Spiegel parallel zum Aufstieg des Individuums und der subjektiven Freiheit im modernen und zeitgenössischen Tanz an Bedeutung verlor. Dieser dokumentarische Tanzabend richtet den Spiegel nun auf das Publikum zurück und bezieht es als Subjekt der Betrachtung ins Experiment mit ein.

Ein Spiegel wird in diesem Abend da installiert, wo normalerweise die Bühne ist. Er reflektiert nicht nur die Tänzer*innen, sondern wie ein gigantisches Selfie die ganze Tribüne mitsamt dem Publikum. So wird, ähnlich wie bei Aktionen des Performancekünstlers Dan Graham in den 1970er-Jahren, der Zuschauerraum zum Hauptaktionsort. Das Publikum rückt im Austausch mit den Tänzer*innen selbst ins Zentrum der choreografischen Bewegungen und erlebt sich beim „Verkörpern“ von komplexen Bildern.

Neurowissenschaftler*innen gehen davon aus, dass unser Nervensystem nicht zentral gesteuert ist, sondern dass die verschiedenen Bereiche des Gehirns intensiv miteinander kommunizieren: vergleichbar einem Computernetzwerk mit Algorithmen, die nicht linear, sondern dezentral agieren und auf ihren Kontext reagieren, während sie Informationen sammeln und prozessieren. Wie genau das geschieht, darüber kann auch die Wissenschaft bisher nur spekulieren. Immer wieder werden neue Mechanismen entdeckt. Anfang der 1990er-Jahre zum Beispiel die Spiegelneuronen: Diese führen dazu, dass das Gehirn in ähnlicher Weise angeregt wird, egal ob wir selbst etwas tun oder dieselbe Handlung bei einer anderen Person beobachten. Obwohl beim Menschen schwer nachzuweisen, könnten Spiegelneuronen einen Schlüssel zur Erklärung von Empathie und gegenseitigem Verstehen darstellen.

Die dokumentarische Recherche zu diesem Tanzabend bezieht Konzepte aus Hirnforschung, Biologie, Soziologie und künstlicher Intelligenz ein, die das Publikum einerseits hört und reflektiert und andererseits erlebt, nachvollzieht – vielleicht sogar antizipiert oder versucht, sich ihnen zu entziehen. Und zwar ganz konkret am eigenen Körper und als große Gemeinschaft im Publikum. Über den Spiegel betrachten die Zuschauer*innen sich und die anderen beim Beobachten des Versuchs, in dessen Zentrum sie sitzen.

Modellhaft lässt sich mittels Bewegungsimpulsen eine Gruppe von Menschen auf einer Tribüne ähnlich vernetzen wie ein Gehirn. Vertont wird dieses bewegte Bild durch ein Musikarrangement mit O-Ton-Einspielungen von Wahrnehmungsforscher*innen. In der Wahrnehmung des Publikums verwebt sich die Szenerie mit deren Gedanken, illustriert oder konterkariert sie, vervollständigt oder widerlegt sie. Jeden Abend anders.

 

Konzept und Regie: Stefan Kaegi
Musik: Tobias Koch
Bühne: Dominic Huber
Video: Mikko Gaestel
Dramaturgie: Silke Bake
Tänzer*innen: Melissa Kieffer, Dominique McDougal, Orlando Rodriguez, László Sandig, Claudia de Serpa Soares, Wibke Storkan u. a.
 
Eine Produktion von Sasha Waltz & Guests in Zusammenarbeit mit Rimini Protokoll.
Eine Koproduktion mit den Salzburger Festspielen und Tanz Köln.