Security Conference

By Stefan Kaegi

What does intelligent ammunition think?

Is anybody able to understand a troop contingent speaking 12 languages?

How do you simulate Day X?

300 conference participants, 3,500 protesters, 4,000 police officers. Defence ministers, representatives of the arms industry, globalization critics... all of them see a platform for their cause in the annual Munich Security Conference. The venue is the luxury hotel Bayerischer Hof, and a whole city places itself in scene as a stronghold of diplomacy, backed up by countless official receptions and armies of helicopters.

In NATO-speak, a “theatre” is a demarcated area inside which military engagement takes place.

Military exercises are used to present officers and students of political science with fictive scenarios that could become reality in the not-so-distant future: civil wars in Indonesia, or the deployment of unmanned combat units in Somalia... Individuals take on the role of countries and states, test the strength of their opponents’ arguments. Entire operating headquarters are reproduced – or, to put it more precisely, anticipated.

At Kammerspiele, Stefan Kaegi stages a meta-conference at a vast roundtable. In confrontation with asymmetric and privatized warfare, experts in security technology and fun robotics are brought together with people whose lives were changed by foreign-policy decisions. All the spectators wear headphones transmitting voices that cause them to constantly change their perspective – from the viewfinder of a frontline cameraman to the booth of a conference interpreter, from a young woman suffering the loss of half her family in Somalia to the photo-albums of a former Chief of Protocol, from the strategic wargames of a political scientist to the Afghanistan of a German soldier and the Munich of an Afghani organizing the resistance in his home country.

In show battles fought by robots only the ones no longer capable of movement are considered to have been defeated.

Sicherheitskonferenz

Von Stefan Kaegi

Was denkt selbstintelligente Munition?

Wer versteht ein Truppenkontingent in 12 Sprachen?

Lässt sich Tag X simulieren?

300 Konferenzteilnehmer, 3500 Demonstranten, 4000 Polizisten. Verteidigungsminister, Rüstungsindustrie, Globalisierungskritiker... Sie alle nutzen die jährliche Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz in und um den bayerischen Hof als Plattform für ihre Anliegen. Eine ganze Stadt inszeniert sich mit Empfängen und Helikoptern als Hort der Diplomatie.

In der Sprache der NATO ist ein "theatre" ein abgegrenzter Ort, an dem Kampfhandlungen stattfinden.

Mit Hilfe von Planspielen werden Offiziere und Politologie-Studenten an fiktive Szenarien herangeführt, die in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft eintreffen könnten: Bürgerkriege in Indonesien oder Einsätze unbemannter Kampfeinheiten in Somalia... Menschen nehmen Rollen von Ländern an, erproben Argumente ihres Gegenübers. Beim bayerischen Dienstleistungskonzern IABG werden ganze Hauptquartiere nachgespielt - oder besser antizipiert.

Stefan Kaegi inszeniert in den Münchner Kammerspielen eine Meta-Konferenz an einem grossen, runden Tisch: Eine Gegenüberstellung zu asymetrischen und privatisierten Kriegen, an der Experten aus der Sicherheitstechnik und dem Fun-Robotikbereich auf Menschen treffen, deren Leben sich durch aussenpolitische Entscheidungen verändert haben. Die Zuschauer sitzen sich mit Kopfhörern gegenüber und lassen sich von ihren Stimmen in immer neue Perspektiven locken: Hinter die Kamera eines Frontreporters, in die Kabine einer Konferenzdolmetscherin, in das Somalia einer jungen Frau, die dort ihre halbe Familie verlor, in die Fotoalben eines ehemaligen Protokollchefs, in die strategischen Wargames eines Politologen, ins Afghanistan einer deutschen Soldatin und das München eines Afghanen, der von hier aus den Widerstand in seinem Heimatland organisierte.

Bei Roboterschaukämpfen gilt: Erst wer sich nicht mehr bewegen kann, hat verloren