School Visit Europe

By Daniel Wetzel

School Visit Europe is a performance you can put in your hand luggage - big ideas are rarely presented so intimately. What is Europe actually? Is it a geographic border, a cultural identity, a coalition of states? It is said over and over that Europe is an ever changing idea - too theoretical, as the individual can tell from their own experience. Rimini Protokoll contrasts this abstract idea of Europe with the reality of a class room. 15 students become part of a performance in a class room that interweaves personal stories and the political mechanisms of Europe. How much Europe is in us all?

You can host School Visit Europe in your own class. Each performance takes place in a different class room and so the performance will travel through hundreds of schools throughout Europe, building a network that rather than growing from a centre, stretches from front door to front door across the continent.

 

Konzept/Skript/Regie: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel (Rimini Protokoll). Redaktion Webseite:  Anton Rose
Adaption Skript Schulbesuch Europa:
Daniel Wetzel (Rimini Protokoll), Winfried Tobias (Theater Aalen), Anton Rose

Spielleiter und Redaktion Webseite: Anton Rose 
Webseite: Tawan Arun und Ralph Gowers
Technik: Hans Leser
Produktionsleitung: Louise Stölting

 

SCHOOL VISIT EUROPE WEBSITE

 

School Visit Europe is a co-production with Theater der Stadt Aalen and Junges Theater Heidelberg. The production of "School Visit Europe" was made possible by a special funding from the Ministry of Science, Research and Arts Baden-Württemberg.

Based on "Home Visit Europe" - a production by Rimini Apparat. In co-production with Archa Theatre Prague (CZ). BIT Teatergarasjen/Bergen International Festival (NO). Frascati Teater Amsterdam (NL). HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin (D). Kaaitheater Brussels (BE). LIFT London (GB). Malta Festival Poznan (PL). Mungo Park (DK). Sort/Hvid (DK). Teater Nordkraft (DK). Théâtre de la Commune Aubervilliers (FR). Théâtre Garonne (FR). Teatro Maria Matos (PT).

The production was commissioned by and co-produced with House on Fire and is presented with the support of the Cultural Programme of the European Union. Funded by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin and as part of the Territoria Festival (Moscow) by the Goethe Institut.

School Visit Europe was developed in Aalen and Berlin in 2022 as a further development of the play "Home Visit Europe" by Rimini Protokoll.

Schulbesuch Europa

Von Daniel Wetzel

Schulbesuch Europa ist eine Aufführung, die sich im Handgepäck transportieren lässt und die uns so nahe kommt, wie es die großen Ideen sonst selten tun. Was ist Europa? Ist es eine geografische Grenze, eine kulturelle Identität, ein Staatenverbund? Europa, so wird immer wieder konstatiert, ist am ehesten eine sich ständig wandelnde Idee – zu theoretisch, als dass sie vom Einzelnen als Lebenswirklichkeit erfahren werden könnte. Rimini Protokoll kontrastiert diese abstrakte europäische Idee mit der Realität eines Klassenzimmers. 15 Schüler:Innen werden Teil einer Inszenierung, die persönliche Geschichten und die Mechanismen des politischen Europa miteinander verzahnt. Wie viel Europa steckt in einem Klassenzimmer?

Sie können Schulbesuch Europa als Gastgebende zu sich an die Schule einladen. Jede Aufführung findet in einer anderen Klasse statt, und so reist diese Aufführung vielleicht durch hunderte von Schulen in ganz Europa und baut ein Netzwerk auf, das nicht aus einem Zentrum heraus verordnet wurde, sondern das sich von Schule zu Schule über den Kontinent erstreckt.

 
Konzept/Skript/Regie: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel (Rimini Protokoll)
Adaption Skript Schulbesuch Europa: Daniel Wetzel (Rimini Protokoll), Winfried Tobias (Theater Aalen), Anton Rose
Spielleiter und Redaktion Webseite: Anton Rose 
Design Webseite: Tawan Arun
Technik: Hans Leser
Produktionsleitung: Louise Stölting
 
SCHULBESUCH EUROPA WEBSITE
 
Schulbesuche Europa ist eine Koproduktion mit dem Theater der Stadt Aalen und dem Jungen Theater Heidelberg. 
Die Produktion von „Schulbesuch Europa“ wurde ermöglicht durch eine Sonderförderung des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg.
 
Basierend auf „Hausbesuche Europa“ - einer Produktion von Rimini Apparat. In Koproduktion mit Archa Theatre Prague (CZ). BIT Teatergarasjen/Bergen International Festival (NO). Frascati Teater Amsterdam (NL). HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin (D). Kaaitheater Brussels (BE). LIFT London (GB). Malta Festival Poznan (PL). Mungo Park (DK). Sort/Hvid (DK). Teater Nordkraft (DK). Théâtre de la Commune Aubervilliers (FR). Théâtre Garonne (FR). Teatro Maria Matos (PT).
 
Die Produktion entstand im Auftrag von und in Koproduktion mit House on Fire und wird mit Unterstützung des Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union präsentiert. Gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin und im Rahmen des Territoria Festivals (Moskau) durch das Goethe Institut.
 
Schulbesuch Europa wurde 2022 in Aalen und Berlin entwickelt als Weiterentwicklung des Stücks Hausbesuch Europa von Rimini Protokoll.