"> " />

Prometheus in Athens

with 103 inhabitants of Athens

By Haug / Wetzel

"Prometheus bound": What do Athenians know, what do they think about it today? "Prometheus in Athens" is pursuing this question with 103 inhabitants of Athens, who were found regarding two relationships: On the one hand these 103 Athenians represent the city according to basic official statistic values. On the other hand they identify/sympathize with particulary aspect of the drama "Prometheus bound".

Rimini Protokoll show people who have experiences with the disposition to durable sufferings; who see themselves as well in a situation of uncompromising insurgency; people who understand their jobs as a continuation of the "promethian effort" to improve the human future; those who execute uneasily but consequently the power of the state; those who are on the run; those who think to have broken a law for the sake of others; and people who perceive god as a more important legislator than civic society.

"Prometheus in Athens", a contribution by Helgard Haug and Daniel Wetzel to the "Promethiade" at Athens Festival, can only take place in Athens: In the center of the city, a stone's throw away from the center of the Athenian theater-democracy, for which the "Prometheus"-trilogy was written once.

by Helgard Haug & Daniel Wetzel
Assistant Director - Research: Prodromos Tsinikoris
Set Design: Guy Stefanou
Research and collaboration: Anestis Azas, Giolanta Markopoulou, Christina Polychroniadou
Dramaturgie: Sebastian Brünger

„Prometheus in Athen“ is a production of the Athens & Epidaurus Festivals in cooperation with Kulturhauptstadt Istanbul 2010 and Stiftung Zollverein, supported by Goethe-Instituts.

Prometheus in Athen

mit 103 Bewohnern Athens

Von Haug / Wetzel

"Der gefesselte Prometheus": was wissen, was denken die Athener heute davon? "Prometheus in Athen" geht dieser Frage nach in einen Abend mit 103 Athenern, die entlang zweier Beziehungslinien gefunden werden: Die 103 Athener repräsentieren einerseits die Bevölkerung der Stadt, statistisch entsprechend ausgewählter Basiskriterien. Andererseits identifizieren sie sich mit Aspekten aus dem “Gefesselten Prometheus”.

Rimini Protokoll zeigen Menschen, die Erfahrung haben mit der Bereitschaft zu permanentem Leid, die sich im Zustand kompromissloser Auflehnung sehen, Menschen, die sich als Fortführer der "prometheischen" Arbeit an der besseren Zukunft der Menschen verstehen, solche, die unwillig aber doch die Belange der Staatsgewalt umsetzen, Menschen, die dort und dennoch auf der Flucht sind, solchen, die ein Gesetz gebrochen haben wollen zum Wohl aller, und solchen, die den Gott als Gesetzgeber höher stellen als das politische Gemeinwesen.

"Prometheus in Athen", der Beitrag von Helgard Haug und Daniel Wetzel zur "Promethiade" kann nur in Athen stattfinden, im Zentrum der Stadt und einen Steinwurf vom Zentrum jener Athener Theater-Demokratie entfernt, für das die Prometheus-Trilogie einmal geschrieben worden war.

In Essen wird auf dem Gelände der Stiftung Zollverein am 31. Juli 2010 eine Lecture Performance gezeigt, bei der mehrere Beteiligte der Athener Aufführung einem Rohschnitt des filmischen Mitschnitts von Athina Tsangari ihre Versionen des Aufführungsabends hinzugesellen.

Im Museum für Moderne Kunst Istanbul, Istanbul Modern, wird der Film von Athina Tsangari am 22. September 2010 Vorpremiere haben.

von Helgard Haug & Daniel Wetzel
Regie Assistenz - Recherche: Prodromos Tsinikoris
Bühnenbild: Guy Stefanou
Recherche und Mitarbeit: Anestis Azas, Giolanta Markopoulou, Christina Polychroniadou
Dramaturgie: Sebastian Brünger

„Prometheus in Athen“ ist eine Produktion des Athens & Epidaurus Festivals in Kooperation mit der Kulturhauptstadt Istanbul 2010 und der Stiftung Zollverein, mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts.