Evros Walk Water 1&2

By Daniel Wetzel

«Once you heard this concert I will live in Switzerland as well» – this was the closing sentence of «Evros Walk Water» – a swiss-greek project in 2015 for Schlossmediale Werdenberg. Since then the piece has done those journeys in Europe that it protagonists could not. Developed with minors in a refuge in Athens it places the audience in their positions at the instruments in this landscape like stage of Europe. «Walk Water» (1959) – duration 3 minutes – by John Cage is being performed again and again. Yet in-between everybody changes their positions, again and again, as well as their viewpoints on the narrations of the kids, and the music performed on basis of their directions on the headphones. «Evros Walk Water 1&2» has been developed in may 2017 with the Onassis Cultural Center in Athens. Some of the teenagers have meanwhile moved on, they live in Switzerland, Sweden, Denmark. Others have stayed and ask: How is it for you? The concert continues, the instruments alter, as well as the stories. A music theater piece celebrating the joy of noise, of listening, of participating and re-thinking.

“At the end everybody applauds but nobody can exactly tell why or to whom. (...) Evros Walk Water is a complex documentary, AN immersive audio piece installation that can be accessed by the audience with EASE because they BECOME familiar with these refugee stories in such a direct manner PARTICIPATING IN THE PERFORMANCE. This has been done so brilliantly that only afterwards you start thinking about how big the effort must have been to adjust all these elements with each other. AND it is even more brilliant that the theater makers have disclaimed any big drama IN THE PRESENTATION. (...) It is the human being that stands in the center here, and this is what we should keep about it”. (Rheinische Post) 

 

Evros Walk Water 2
Cast: Abel, Aron, Ehsan, Jawad, Jined, Massoud, Moussa, Omer 
Concept & Direction: Daniel Wetzel
Dramaturgy: Ioanna Valsamidou
Research: Konstantinos Kallivretakis
Research, Assistance: Nefeli Myrodia
Research (Sweden): Margarita Gerogianni
Set: Magda Plevraki
Set Assistance: Maria Kakaroglou
Sound Artist: Peter Breitenbach
Sound Artist Collaboration: Lampros Pigounis
Sound Support: Panos Tsagarakis
Light Design: Guy Stephanou, Michalis Kloukinas
Video Artist: Menelaos Karamaghiolis
Video Artist Collaboration: Panagiotis Papafragkos
Video Art Team: Stavros Triantos, Nikos Ziogas, Giorgos Kravaritis
Flute, Kaval: Dimitris Brendas

Technical Director: Martin Schwemin
Production Management: Violetta Gyra, Juliane Männel, Heidrun Schlegel (Rimini Apparat)
World premiere at Onassis Cultural Centre / Fast Forward Festival (Athens)


Production: Rimini Apparat and Onassis Cultural Centre / Fast Forward Festival (Athens) 
Coproduced by HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin
Funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe - Department of Culture
Based on Evros Walk Water – a coproduction by TAK Liechtenstein, Schloßmediale Werdenberg and Rimini Apparat

 

Evros Walk Water 2​ is based on Evros Walk Water
Concept & Direction: Daniel Wetzel
Dramaturgy: Ioanna Valsamidou
Research, Assistance: Konstantinos Kallivretakis, Ioanna Valsamidou
Set: Adrianos Zacharias
Set Assistance: Magda Plevraki 
Sound: Peter Breitenbach
Sound Assistance: Panos Tsagarakis
Light: Roger Stieger
Consulting: Fotis Parthenidis
Translation: Bakar Albakar, Abbas Golbas
Production Mangement: Heidrun Schlegel (Rimini Apparat), Charlotte Streck
Assistant Production: Kostas Valsamidis
Coproduction: Tak Liechtenstein, Schloßmediale Werdenberg, Rimini Apparat
In Collaboration With: Polyplanity Productions
 
Special thanks to Mirella Weingarten, Kurt Scheidegger, to the design store DMOD Workshop, Society for the Care of Minors, Fotis Parthenidis, Telemachos Tsolis, Dimitra Adamantidou, Eleftheria Lykou, Spyros Tzivelekis, Lukas Alexiou, Theodoros Roumpanis, Valerios Skripkarow, Alice Roorda, Maaike Verbogt, Annelies van der Goot, Roy van Berkum

"> " />

Evros Walk Water 1&2

Von Daniel Wetzel

Wenn Sie dieses Konzert gehört haben, werde ich auch in der Schweiz leben.. – Das war der Schlusssatz von "Evros Walk Water", einem schweizerisch-griechischen Projekt von 2015 für die Schlossmediale Werdenberg. Das Stück ging seither auf jene Reisen in Europa, die den Protagonisten des Stücks versagt waren. Mit Minderjährigen in einer Unterkunft in Athen erarbeitet, stellt es die Zuhörer anstelle der Musiker an die Instrumente in dieser Bühnenlandschaft Europas. Das dreiminütige Stück "Water Walk" (1959) von John Cage wird gespielt, wieder und wieder. Aber dazwischen wechseln alle den Standpunkt, wieder und wieder, auf die Geschichten der Kinder und auf die Musik, die man über Kopfhörer angeleitet von ihnen, an ihrer Stelle, spielt "Evros Walk Water 1&2" wurde im Mai 2017 mit dem Onassis Cultural Center in Athen erarbeitet. Jetzt, zwei Jahre später sind einige der Jugendlichen selbst weitergereist, leben in der Schweiz, in Schweden und Dänemark. Andere sind geblieben und fragen nun: wie ist es bei Euch? Die Musik wird weiter gespielt, die Instrumente ändern sich, die Geschichten auch. Ein Musiktheater-Stück der Freude am Geräusch, am Zuhören, an der Teilhabe und am Weiterdenken.

„Zuletzt applaudieren alle, aber niemand weiß genau, warum, oder wem nun eigentlich dieser Applaus gilt. […] ‚Evros Walk Water‘ ist eine komplexe begehbare dokutheatralische Hörspiel-Installation, die sich den Zuschauern in aller Leichtigkeit erschließt, weil diese die Fluchtgeschichten unmittelbar vorgeführt bekommen und Teil des Spiels werden. Das ist so gut gemacht, dass es einem erst später auffällt, wie viel Mühe es gekostet haben muss, dies alles aufeinander abzustimmen; und noch viel besser ist, dass die Theatermacher aufs ganz große Drama […] verzichtet haben. […] Es steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt, und das ist, was man im Auge behalten sollte.“ (Rheinische Post)

 

Mit: Abel, Aron, Ehsan, Jawad, Jined, Massoud, Moussa, Omer.  
Deutsche Verion: Alexander, Anna-Sophie, Arthur, Bela, Daniel, Haris, Jiannis, Justin, Kevin, Kriton, Noah, Noel, Philippos, Zoi
Konzept & Regie: Daniel Wetzel
Dramaturgie: Ioanna Valsamidou
Ton: Peter Breitenbach
Bühnenbild: Adrianos Zacharias (1), Magda Plevraki (2)
Licht -Objekte: Guy Stephanou, Michalis Kloukinas,
Recherche: Konstantinos Kallivretakis, Ioanna Valsamidou (1)
Recherche, Assistenz: Nefeli Myrodia (2)
Licht: Martin Schwemin. 
Mitarbeit Ton: Lambros Pigounis (2)
Tonassistenz: Panos Tsagarakis
Video-Clip: Ehsan
Flöte, Kaval: Dimitris Brendas
Bühnenbildassistenz: Magda Plevraki (1), Maria Kakaroglou (2)
Übersetzung: Bakar Albakar, Abbas Golbas
Videoprogrammierung: Marc Jungreithmeier
Recherche (Schweden): Margarita Gerogianni (2)
Produktionsleitung: Heidrun Schlegel (1), Charlotte Streck (1), Violetta Gyra (2), Juliane Männel (2)

 

Dank an: Mirella Weingarten, Kurt Scheidegger, design store DMOD Workshop, Society for the Care of Minors, Fotis Parthenidis, Telemachos Tsolis, Dimitra Adamantidou, Eleftheria Lykou, Spyros Tzivelekis, Lukas Alexiou, Theodoros Roumpanis, Valerios Skripkarow, Alice Roorda, Maaike Verbogt, Annelies van der Goot, Roy van Berkum, Menelaos Karamaghiolis, Panagiotis Papafragkos, Stavros Triantos, Nikos Ziogas, Giorgos Kravaritis

 

Produktion: Rimini Apparat und Onassis Cultural Centre / Fast Forward Festival (Athen) 
Koproduziert durch das HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin.
Finanziert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa - Abteilung Kultur.
Basierend auf Evros Walk Water – eine Koproduktion von TAK Liechtenstein, Schloßmediale Werdenberg und Rimini Apparat