Black Box.

Phantom Theatre for 1 Person.

By Stefan Kaegi

The theatres have been empty for months. Performances in front of filled halls are prohibited until further notice. On the other hand, exhibition visits by individuals are allowed. So let’s turn the black box theatre into a white cube museum and make it exhibit itself. The halls still resonate with those moments that connected spectators - storms of emotions, laughter, tears and applause.

What is left of a theatrical performance, ephemeral by nature? Recordings, reviews and even director’s notes document only a tiny part of a performance. Hormones, smells, textures have left other traces. The deserted foyer, the stage, the light control room, develop the charm of ruins - post show: temporary ruins of a ritual meeting place, the archaeological remains of a society in representation. How much of it can be technically simulated, reproduced, synchronized? What if the world simulation machine sets itself in motion and the spectator slides into the center of it all?

Covid-19 makes possible what no theatre could otherwise afford: an entire house plays for one person. Like Tarkowski’s Stalker, the audience carefully walks through the hallways, with headphones and gloves, they step through the empty rows in the auditorium onto the back stage and enter the labyrinth of a fiction machine. The black box opens up to researchers and asks the question: where are the others? In times of social distancing and isolation, the question of community arises.

Stefan Kaegi summons experts for politics, simulation and memory; People whose lives are connected to these spaces and the idea of theater: makeup artists and prompters, actors and philosophers….Their voices recorded with binaural microphones and music build up a site-specific sound score. A path is being drawn beneath the theater, in the subconscious of our society, through the multiple layers of the palimpsest of memory.

 

Boite Noire 
Théâtre Vidy, Lausanne:

Concept and direction: Stefan Kaegi
Assistant director: Tomas Gonzalez
Sound design: Stéphane Vecchione
Narrator's voice: Lola Giouse
With: François Ansermet, Eric Bart, Pierre Berrou, Danielle Chaperon, Claire De Ribeaupierre, Matthieu Jaccard, Yvette Jaggi, Roger Monnard, Anne-Cecile Moser, Thierry Sartoretti, Yvette Théraulaz, Fatmir Ademi, Nehat Shabani, Janyves Coïc, Bruno Dani, Mathieu Dorsaz Tomas Gonzalez, Stéphane Janvier, Catherine Jodoin, Thierry Kaltenrieder, Rosi Morilla, Pierre-Nicolas Moulin, Martine Staerk and Virigine Triaire, Andrea Kaegi, Solal Oechsner, Lætitia Dosch, Yuval Rozman

Production: Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne
With the support of: Pro Helvetia

 

Black Box
Staatstheater Stuttgart


Concept and direction: Stefan Kaegi
Dramaturgy: Aljoscha Begrich + Carolin Losch
Sound design: Niki Neecke

With voices of Silvana Krappatsch, staff of Stuttgarter Schauspiel and external experts

Production: Staatstheater Stuttgart

Black Box

Phantomtheater für 1 Person.

Von Stefan Kaegi

Seit Monaten stehen die Theater leer. Aufführungen vor gefüllten Sälen sind bis auf weiteres verboten. Ausstellungsbesuche durch Einzelpersonen sind dagegen erlaubt. Folgerichtig wird die Black Box Theater zum White Cube Museum und stellt sich selber aus: Das Phänomen, dass hier Menschen zusammenkamen, um Kunst zu sehen. In den leeren Räumen hallt nach, was die Menschen hier verband – Gefühlsstürme, Lacher, Tränen und Applaus. 

Aber was bleibt von einer flüchtigen Theateraufführung überhaupt zurück? Aufzeichnungen, Kritiken und selbst Regiebücher bilden nur einen Teil der Aufführung ab. Hormone, Gerüche, Textur haben andere Spuren hinterlassen. In ihrer Leere entwickeln Zuschauerraum, Bühne, Garderoben und Lichtbrücken den Charme von Ruinen:  Post-Spektakel. Die Bühne und ihre Umgebung als temporäre Ruine einer rituellen Versammlungsstätte. Eine Archäologie der Repräsentation von Gesellschaft. Schicht für Schicht abgetragen gibt das Gebäude den Blick frei auf das, was Theater war, ist, sein kann. 

Wieviel davon ist technisch simulierbar, reproduzierbar, synchronisierbar? Was ist, wenn sich die Weltsimulationsmaschine Theater von selbst in Bewegung setzt und das Publikum ins Zentrum des Geschehens rutscht? 
 
Covid19 macht möglich, was sich sonst kein Schauspielhaus erlauben könnte: ein ganzes Haus spielt für eine Person. Wie Tarkowski’s Stalker gehen die ZuschauerInnen vorsichtig durch die Flure, mit Kopfhörern und Handschuhen treten sie durch die leeren Reihen im Zuschauerraum auf die Hinterbühne und betreten das Labyrinth der Fiktionsmaschine. Die Black Box öffnet sich den rekonstruierenden Forschern und stellt die Frage: Wo sind die anderen? In Zeiten von sozialer Distanz und Isolation gilt es hier zu entdecken was Gemeinschaft bedeutet. 

Erinnerung funktioniert wie ein Palimpsest aus vielen Schichten. Stefan Kaegi von Rimini Protokoll nimmt Experten für politische Gemeinschaft, Simulation und Erinnerung auf; Menschen, deren Leben mit diesen Räumen und der Idee von Theater verbunden sind: Maskenbildnerinnen und Souffleure, Ensemblemitglieder und Philosophinnen…. Zwischen ihren binaural im Raum inszenierten Stimmen und ortsspezifischen Klängen entsteht eine Fährte durch den Körper des Theaters, die en Passant zu einem Gang ins Unterbewusste der Gesellschaft werden könnte.

Boite Noire 
Théâtre Vidy, Lausanne:
 

Konzept und Regie: Stefan Kaegi
Regieassistenz: Tomas Gonzalez
Sounddesign: Stéphane Vecchione
Erzählerstimme: Lola Giouse
Mit: François Ansermet, Eric Bart, Pierre Berrou, Danielle Chaperon, Claire De Ribeaupierre, Matthieu Jaccard, Yvette Jaggi, Roger Monnard, Anne-Cecile Moser, Thierry Sartoretti, Yvette Théraulaz, Fatmir Ademi, Nehat Shabani, Janyves Coïc, Bruno Dani, Mathieu Dorsaz, Tomas Gonzalez, Stéphane Janvier, Catherine Jodoin, Thierry Kaltenrieder, Rosi Morilla, Pierre-Nicolas Moulin, Martine Staerk und Virigine Triaire, Andrea Kaegi, Solal Oechsner, Lætitia Dosch, Yuval Rozman

Produktion: Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne
Mit der Unterstützung von: Pro Helvetia


Black Box
Staatstheater Stuttgart


Konzept und Regie: Stefan Kaegi
Dramaturgie: Aljoscha Begrich + Carolin Losch
Sounddesign: Niki Neecke

Mit den Stimmen von Silvana Krappatsch, MitarbeiterInnen des Stuttgarter Schauspiels und externen ExpertInnen

Produktion: Staatstheater Stuttgart