Apparatus Berlin

By Helgard Haug / Daniel Wetzel

Stage work on managing the masses, panic research and an experiment on the self in both parts of the divided Berlin in Winter 1963/64.

»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»

Apparatus Berlin – 2 agree 2 disagree.

Apparatus Berlin begins at 11 am at Potsdamer Platz, the Brandenburg Gate or the city hall (Rotes Rathaus). On each day of the performance Willenbacher and Kaltwasser find a Berlin expert – the tourist of the day. These ‘experts’ are approached because they are photographing and are asked to distribute their day’s snapshots that evening among the audience and to sign them. A city must provide images, otherwise tourists will go to the wrong places. Tourists need cameras, otherwise the city cannot photograph them. With black box in hand. Apparatus Berlin. A border only exists if it’s used.

In Winter 1963 / 64, after 28 months of separation in which all contact had been cut, West Berliners were allowed into the other part of the city for the first time – the reason: family reunion for one day. The experiment lasted 18 days. The apparatus was set in motion, for a short time organs with different timings sought shared frequencies, ‘architects of unity’ and poets of public order work overtime. The formula that makes this possible is “We agree to disagree“. 13 times Ostpost (East German Post Office) staff are picked up at the border and driven to schools in the West. There they sit at tables, process applications and issue ‘Passierscheine’ (travel permits). A state can only reach as far as it can stamp, so the stamping goes on all night in the city’s East. Thousands queue in the snow in front of the school buildings, some for longer than one night – to ‘pick up application forms’ or ‘submit an application’, or ‘pick up a travel permit’. Initially only a few hundred are processed per day and per post office.

Who will be allowed to change sides for one day? How can I get a travel permit? How do you organise an onslaught of millions of applicants? This experiment of a divided city on itself was played out in real time on kitchen radios. In the RIAS archive there are 40 hours of taped material from the RIAS special broadcasts on travel permit issues in the winter of 1963/64. On the tapes listeners are heard asking Peter Herz and the other moderators about the current state of the rules and their intricacies. They want to know: What do I have to do, how can I get one, what can I take with me, what am I risking? What they find out on the phone is that the rules are in motion and the callers are pawns in a temporary experiment. Apparatus Berlin sticks extracts from the tapes to Bert Neumann’s stage setting, the Wohnbühne (and to Berlin’s fastest billboard at the bus stop at the Prater in Kastanienallee). The nine doors of the Wohnbühne are connected to ghettoblasters; if the doors are opened, the tapes start running.

By: Helgard Haug, Daniel Wetzel

With: Josephine Fabian, Martin Kaltwasser, Sascha Willenbacher and the tourists of the day

On tape: Peter Herz, Ruprecht Kurzrock, JoJoachim Jauer, and listeners to the RIAS special broadcasts on travel permit issues (Winter 1963/64)

Stage setting: Bert Neumann

Costumes: Janina Audick

Production: Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg Platz

Premiere: Berlin, Prater der Volksbühne, 28th of November 2001

In cooperation with DeutschlandRadio Berlin

Publication in “Wohnfront 2002” (Alexander Verlag Berlin)

Apparat Berlin

Von Helgard Haug / Daniel Wetzel

Szenische Arbeit zu Massenmanagement, Panikforschung und dem Selbstversuch der beiden Teile Berlins im Winter 1963/64.
 

 »»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»

Apparat Berlin – 2 agree 2 disgagree.

Apparat Berlin beginnt jeweils um 11 Uhr am Potsdamer Platz, am Brandenburger Tor oder vor dem Roten Rathaus: Willenbacher und Kaltwasser finden an jedem Aufführungstag einen Berlin-Experten – die Touristin / den Touristen des Tages. Die Experten werden als solche angesprochen, weil sie fotografieren und gebeten, ihre Schnappschüsse vom Tag am Abend im Publikum zu verteilen und sie dabei zu signieren. Eine Stadt muss Motive liefern, sonst laufen die Touristen in die falschen Ecken. Ein Tourist braucht eine Kamera, sonst kann die Stadt ihn nicht fotografieren. Die Black Box in der Hand. Apparat Berlin. Eine Grenze entsteht durch ihre Benutzung.

Im Winter 1963 / 64 dürfen West-Berliner erstmals nach 28 Monaten Trennung und Kontaktsperre in den anderen Teil der Stadt – Motiv: Familienzusammenführung für einen Tag; 18 Tage insgesamt dauert der Versuch. Der Apparat gerät in Bewegung, Organe mit unterschiedlicher Taktung suchen kurzfristig gemeinsame Frequenzen, „Architekten der Einheit“ und Anordnungslyriker machen Überstunden. Die Formel, die ihn ermöglichte lautete „Wir sind uns einig, dass wir uns nicht einig sind“. 13 mal werden Angestellte der Ostpost an der Grenze abgeholt und in Westschulen gefahren. Dort sitzen sie an Tischen, nehmen Anträge an und geben Passierscheine aus. Ein Staat reicht so weit wie er stempeln darf, deshalb wird nachts im Ostteil gestempelt. Vor den Schulgebäuden stehen Tausende im Schnee teils länger als eine Nacht Schlange – für „Antrag abholen“ oder „Antrag abgeben“, oder „Passierschein abholen“. Abgefertigt werden zunächst nur hunderte pro Tag und Stelle.

Wer darf für einen Tag die Seite wechseln? Wie kommt man an die Passierscheine ran? Wie organisiert man den Andrang von Millionen auf Antragsstellen? Das Experiment einer geteilten Stadt mit sich selbst bildet sich in Echtzeit in ihren Küchenradios ab. Im RIAS-Archiv lagern 40 Stunden Bandmaterial von den RIAS-Sondersendungen zu Passierscheinfragen im Winter 1963/64. Auf den Bändern fragen Hörer Peter Herz und seine Moderatorenkollegen nach dem aktuellen Stand der Regeln und nach deren Feinheiten. Sie wollen wissen: Was muss ich tun, wie komme ich ran, was darf ich mitnehmen, was riskiere ich. Sie erfahren am Apparat: Die Regeln sind in Bewegung und sie, die Anrufer, die Spielsteine in einer temporären Versuchsanordnung. Apparat Berlin klammert Auszüge von den Bändern in Bert Neumanns Wohnbühne (und an die schnellste Plakatwand Berlins in der Wartenische am Prater in der Kastanienallee). Die neun Türen der Wohnbühne sind an Ghettoblaster gekoppelt; werden sie geöffnet, springen die Bänder an.

 

Von: Helgard Haug, Daniel Wetzel

Mit: Josephine Fabian, Martin Kaltwasser und Sascha, Willenbacher und dem Touristen des Tages

Vom Band: Peter Herz, Ruprecht Kurzrock, JoJoachim Jauer, sowie Hörer der Sondersendungen des RIAS zu Passierscheinfragen (Winter 1963/64)

Bühne: Bert Neumann (Einheitsbühnenbild 2001/2002)

Kostüm: Janina Audick

Produktion: Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz

Premiere: Berlin, Prater der Volksbühne, 28. Nov 2001

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit DeutschlandRadio Berlin

Publikation in „Wohnfront 2002“ (Alexander Verlag Berlin)

 

Apparatus Berlin / 9. November 2019 / El Born Centre de Cultura i Memòria, Barcelona
https://elbornculturaimemoria.barcelona.cat/activitat/apparatus-berlin/