16 Scenes for a Forest

By Haug / Wetzel

When "Die Judenbuche" (The Jew's Beech) by Annette von Droste-Hülshoff was first published in 1842, it was in 16 parts for a journal and had the subtitle "Ein Sittengemälde aus dem gebirgichten Westfalen" (A portrait of morals from the hills of Westphalia). Today the text is a classic of world literature. In the park of Hülshoff Castle in Westphalia, this text is now the starting point for an installation: a mixture of radio play, film and contemplation of nature.
 
The installation is part of the two-year project "Living with the Ghosts (haunting|heritage)" by Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature (CfL). It addresses the question of how the work of Annette von Droste-Hülshoff can be re-read as a national cultural heritage in an increasingly diverse society.
 
With the voices of: Christoph Bornmüller, Gerd Brendel, Dagmar Cassens, Heiko Daniels, Bettina Grahs, Vassilis Koukalani, Lorenz Krieger, Jacques Malan, Mia Rainprechter, David Ristau, Hilmar Wittler, a.o.
 
Concept, text, sound: Helgard Haug and Daniel Wetzel
Video: Marc Jungreithmeier
Sound, Mixing: Frank Böhle
Technical direction: Patrick Tucholski
Assistance: Lisa Homburger
Collaboration audio editing: Steffen Tielcke
Technical equipment, forestry: Klaudiusz Schimanowski
Production management CfL: Sophie Stroux
Production management RP: Vera Nau
 
Oriental music: Aspa Anogiati (lyre, bendir, musical advice and arrangement), Badee Alhindi (violin, rebab, cello) Ahmad Almir (oud), Özlem Yilmaz (ney).
Using Nisiotikos Chorus (Traditional), To Minore Tis Avis (Traditional), Franz Schubert: Gute Nacht.
 
"Living with the Ghosts (haunting|heritage)" is funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media, by the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia as part of the programme "Regionales Kultur Programm NRW" (Regional Cultural Programm NRW), by the Commerzbank Foundation and the Kunststiftung NRW.
 
"16 Scenes for a Forest" is a co-production of Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature with Rimini Apparat and is supported by the Kunststiftung NRW, the Ministry of Culture and Science of NRW and the Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste.
 
Presented by Kultur.West and taz. die Tageszeitung.
 
Thanks to Kunsthalle Mannheim, Pia Goebel, Anja Heizer, das Nationaltheater Mannheim, Dominika Siroka.

16 Szenen für einen Wald

Von Haug / Wetzel

Als „Die Judenbuche“ von Annette von Droste-Hülshoff 1842 erstmals erschien, geschah dies in einer Zeitschrift in 16 Teilen mit dem Untertitel „Ein Sittengemälde aus dem gebirgichten Westfalen“. Heute ist der Text ein Klassiker der Weltliteratur. Im Park der Burg Hülshoff in Westfalen wird dieser Text nun zum Ausgangspunkt einer Installation: eine Mischung aus Hörspiel, Film und Naturbetrachtung. 
Die Installation ist Teil des zweijährigen Projekts „Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage)“ von Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature (CfL). Es befasst sich mit der Frage, wie das Werk von Annette von Droste-Hülshoff als nationales kulturelles Erbe in einer zunehmend diversen Gesellschaft neu gelesen werden kann. 
 
mit den Stimmen von: Christoph Bornmüller, Gerd Brendel, Dagmar Cassens, Heiko Daniels, Bettina Grahs, Vassilis Koukalani, Lorenz Krieger, Jacques Malan, Mia Rainprechter, David Ristau, Hilmar Wittler, u.a.
 
Konzept, Textbearbeitung, Sound: Helgard Haug und Daniel Wetzel
Video: Marc Jungreithmeier
Sound, Mischung: Frank Böhle
Technische Leitung: Patrick Tucholski
Assistenz: Lisa Homburger
Produktionsleitung CfL: Sophie Stroux
Produktionsleitung RP: Vera Nau
 
Orientalische Musik: Aspa Anogiati (Lyra, Bendir, Musikalische Beratung und Arrangement), Badee Alhindi (Geige, Rebab, Cello) Ahmad Almir (Oud), Özlem Yilmaz (Ney)
 
Unter Verwendung von Nisiotikos Chorus (Traditional), To Minore Tis Avis (Traditional), Franz Schubert: Gute Nacht.
 
„Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage)“ wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Programm „Regionales Kultur Programm NRW“,  durch die Commerzbank-Stiftung und die Kunststiftung NRW.
 
„16 Szenen für einen Wald“ ist eine Koproduktion von Burg Hülshoff – Center for Literature mit Rimini Apparat und wird gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW, das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW und das Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste.
 
Präsentiert von Kultur.West und taz. die Tageszeitung.