1000 Scores

Pieces for Here, Now & Later

By Haug / Helbich / Puschke

In 1919, Marcel Duchamp sent instructions for an artwork from Buenos Aires to his sister by way of a present. Suzanne Duchamp was asked to source a geometry textbook and suspend it by strings from her balcony overlooking Rue la Condamine in Paris. “The wind had to go through the book, choose its own problems, turn and tear the pages.”

In Spring 2020, the urge to create instructional performances reached new heights: locked in, with limited social contacts or in physical distance – without a venue like a theatre, gallery, concert hall or club to go to, to meet and exchange, the private environment turns into the place for interaction. In times when meetings are limited and art institutions keep their doors shut, scores become a transdisciplinary artistic practice for connecting people in their isolations and with their surroundings; to keep creating performances by making the audience become the protagonist of pieces that are written for them.

“1000 Scores. Pieces for Here, Now & Later” is an online performance space that presents new scores from various artists on the website www.1000scores.com. Each score is an instructional art piece for one person, commissioned by the project, in collaboration between partner institutions and the artistic team. New scores are published regularly on the website and spread into the world through social media channels and newsletters.

 

 

A project by Helgard Haug, David Helbich & Cornelius Puschke featuring continously new instructional pieces by various artists on the website: https://1000scores.com

Produced by Rimini Apparat, coproduced by PACT Zollverein, Goethe Institut/Federal Foreign Office of Germany, KANAL – Centre Pompidou and Tanz im August.

Partner: PACT Zollverein (Essen, Co-producer), KANAL – Centre Pompidou (Brussels, Co-producer), Goethe Institut/Auswärtiges Amt (Co-producer), Tanz im August (Berlin), SPOR festival (Aarhus), Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt, Literaturforum im Brecht-Haus (Berlin), Impresario Company | Feodor Elutine (Moscow), Burg Hülshoff – Center for Literature (Havixbeck), Kaaitheater (Brussels), IKOB - Museum of Contemporary Art (Eupen).

1000 Scores

Pieces for Here, Now & Later

Von Haug / Helbich / Puschke

Im Jahr 1919, unmittelbar nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg, konnte Marcel Duchamp nicht an der Hochzeit seiner Schwester teilnehmen und schickte aus Buenos Aires Anweisungen für ein Kunstwerk als Geschenk. Suzanne Duchamp sollte sich ein Geometrie-Lehrbuch beschaffen und es an Schnüren von ihrem Balkon mit Blick auf die Rue la Condamine in Paris aufhängen. "Der Wind muss durch das Buch gehen, seine eigenen Probleme wählen, die Seiten umblättern und zerreißen.”
 
Im Frühjahr 2020 entstand eine neue Notwendigkeit Do-it-yourself-Performances zu schaffen: eingeschlossen, sozial eingeschränkt oder auf Distanz gehalten – ohne einen Ort wie ein Theater, eine Galerie, einen Konzertsaal oder einen Klub, an dem man sich treffen und austauschen kann. So wird das private Umfeld zum Ort der Interaktion. In Zeiten, in denen Begegnungsmomente begrenzt sind und Kunstinstitutionen ihre Türen verschlossen halten, bilden Scores eine disziplinenübergreifende künstlerische Praxis, um Menschen aus ihrer Isolation heraus mit ihrer Umgebung zu verbinden. So werden sie zu Protagonist*innen von Stücken, die für sie geschrieben sind.
 
"1000 Scores. Pieces for Here, Now & Later" ist ein Online Performance Space, der neue Scores auf der Website www.1000scores.com präsentiert. Jeder Score ist eine Auftragsarbeit an Künstler*innen, die in kollaborativer Auswahl zwischen dem künstlerischen Team (Haug, Helbich, Puschke) und der koproduzierenden Institution getätigt wird. Regelmäßig wird auf der Website ein neuer Score veröffentlicht.
 
 
 
Von Helgard Haug, David Helbich & Cornelius Puschke featuring kontinuierlich neue Scores unterschiedlicher Künstler*innen auf der Webseite: https://1000scores.com
 
Eine Produktion von Rimini Apparat, koproduziert von  PACT Zollverein, Goethe Institut/Auswärtiges Amt, KANAL – Centre Pompidou und Tanz im August.
 
Partner: PACT Zollverein (Essen, Koproduzent), KANAL – Centre Pompidou (Brüssel, Koproduzent), Goethe Institut/Auswärtiges Amt (Koproduzent), Tanz im August (Berlin, Koproduzent), SPOR festival (Aarhus), Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt, Literaturforum im Brecht-Haus (Berlin), Impresario Company | Feodor Elutine (Moskau), Burg Hülshoff – Center for Literature (Havixbeck), Kaaitheater (Brüssel), IKOB - Museum of Contemporary Art (Eupen)