100% Plovdiv

A statistical chain reaction

By Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

Your view of the Bulgarian city Plovdiv may vary widely depending on what neighborhood you live in, how much money you make and what religion you have. The city means radically different things to different people because of how they experience it—beliefs, politics, concerns are often the results of people's isolated experiences. 

Everyone knows there are others who differ radically from themselves—they can read the statistics. But what happens when those "statistics" share a stage together? What happens when those hot button issues are addressed live to 100 true representatives of the cross section of the city? What side of the pie chart would you walk to? Who will stand apart? Who will fall back into the majority?

For statistical purposes, people are regularly converted into pie wedges, bars and curves – which are then used to make political arguments or to create economic cost-benefit strategies. What if these statistics were given faces? What if the 346.173 people that make up Plovdiv’s population was represented on stage by 100 persons?

Spreading throughout the city, 100% Plovdiv will beginn with the casting of one member who has to recruit another in 24 hours, who then recruites another and so on – all according to specific criteria of age, gender, household type, geography, language and population group mirroring the demographic make-up the second-largest city of Bulgaria.

100% Plovdiv is a gathering that is a city, a group just beginning to experience itself, a choir that has never practiced, an impossible entity with many faces – assembled into ever-changing new group pictures: group pictures as replacement for family – as fleeting portraits of belonging.

100% Plovdiv

Eine statistische Kettenreaktion

Von Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

Der Blick auf die bulgarische Stadt Plovdiv kann sehr unterschiedlich sein: je nachdem in welcher Gegend Sie leben, wie viel Geld Sie verdienen, welche Religion sie haben oder welche Sprache Sie sprechen. Die Stadt bedeutet für die verschiedenen Menschen radikal unterschiedliche Dinge, abhängig davon, wie Sie sie erleben - Überzeugungen, politische Einstellungen und Sorgen sind oft das Resultat von Isolation.

Zu statistischen Zwecken werden Menschen regelmäßig in Tortenstücke, Balkendiagramme und Kurven umgewandelt, aus denen dann politische Argumente abgeleitet oder wirtschaftliche Kosten-Nutzen-Strategien erstellt werden. Was wäre, wenn diese Statistiken Gesichter bekommen würden? Was wäre, wenn die 346.173 Einwohner Plovdivs auf der Bühne von 100 Personen vertreten wären?

Jeder weiß, dass es andere gibt, die sich radikal von sich selbst unterscheiden - sie können die Statistiken lesen. Aber was passiert, wenn diese "Statistiken" gemeinsam eine Bühne teilen? Was passiert, wenn diese heißen Eisen live an 100 repräsentative Vertreter der Stadt gestellt werden? Auf welche Seite des Tortendiagramms würden Sie gehen? Wer wird abseits stehen? Wer wird sich hinter der Mehrheit verstecken?

Der Castingprozess für 100% Plovdiv wird mit der Nominierung eines ersten Teilnehmers beginnen. Diese Person hat die Aufgabe innerhalb von 24 Stunden eine weitere zu nominieren, der dann einen anderen nach den Kriterien Alter, Geschlecht, Haushaltstyp und Geografie und Sprache auswählt usw. Die 100 ausgesuchten Teilnehmer spiegeln schließlich die demographische Zusammensetzung der zweit größten Stadt Bulgariens.

100% Plovdiv ist eine Ansammlung, die eine Stadt ist, eine Gruppe, die sich erst wahrzunehmen beginnt, ein Chor, der noch nie geübt hat, ein unmögliches Gebilde mit vielen Gesichtern auf 100 Quadratmetern Bühne...