Daniel Wetzel

write an E-Mail

Daniel Wetzel was born in Constance in 1969, studied Applied Theater Studies in Giessen and now lives in Athens and Berlin.

Since 2000 he forms an author and director-team with Helgard Haug and Stefan Kaegi, running under the name Rimini Protokoll. Their projects in duo or trio-constellations as well as solo works cover the fields of theatre, audio play, film and installation.

Central to their work is the further development of the respective art fields to allow for unconventional views on our reality. For example, Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel declared an annual meeting of the Daimler company a theater piece and made their audience temporary share holders (“Annual Shareholders Meeting“, Berlin 2009) and they staged “100% City“ in more than 25 cities around the world with 100 local inhabitants statistically representating their city. In Berlin and Dresden they developed interactive Stasi-audio plays (“50 kilometers of files”, 2011 or “10 kilometers of files”, 2013). Since the 90s their work with “experts of the everyday life” is described as groundbreaking and leading the path to new forms of documentary theater.

Their work “Shooting Bourbaki (2003) was awarded the NRW-Impulse-Prize, “Deadline” (2004), “Wallenstein - a documentary-play” (2006) and “Situation Rooms” (2013) were invited to the Berliner Theatertreffen. The Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis awarded “Karl Marx: Capital, Volume One” (2007) both with the audience award as well as the award for dramaturgy, “Quality Control” (2014) also won the audience award.

Further awards for Rimini Protokoll: German Theater Award Der Faust (2007), European Theater Award in the category New Realities (2008), War Blinded Audio Play Prize for “Karl Marx: Capital, Volume One” (2008), Silver Lion at the 41st Theaterbiennale in Venice (2011),  Hörspielpreis der ARD (ARD’s audio drama award) (2014), Hörbuchpreis der ARD (ARD audio book prize) (2015), Swiss Grand Prix Theater / Hans-Reinhardt-Ring (2015).

Daniel Wetzel

E-Mail schreiben

1969 in Konstanz geboren, hat in Gießen Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft studiert, lebt in Athen und Berlin. 

Seit 2000 bildet er ein Autoren-Regie-Team mit Helgard Haug und Stefan Kaegi unter dem Label Rimini Protokoll. Ihre Arbeiten im Bereich Theater, Hörspiel, Film und Installation entstehen in Zweier- und Dreier-Konstellationen sowie solo.

Im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit steht die Weiterentwicklung der Kunstformen, um ungewöhnliche Sichtweisen auf unsere Wirklichkeit zu ermöglichen. So erklärten Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel eine Hauptversammlung der Daimler AG zum Theaterstück und machten ihre Zuschauer zu temporären Aktionären (“Hauptversammlung”, Berlin 2009) oder inszenierten in bislang mehr als 25 Städten weltweit mit jeweils 100 statistisch repräsentativ ausgewählten Bürgern 100% Stadt. In Berlin und Dresden entwickelten sie begehbare Stasi-Hörspiele (50 Aktenkilometer, 2011 bzw.10 Aktenkilometer, 2013). Ihre Arbeit mit “Experten des Alltags” seit den Neunziger Jahren wird in zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Publikationen weltweit als wegweisend für neue Formen des Dokumentarischen Theaters beschrieben. 

Von ihren Stücken wurde Shooting Bourbaki (2003) mit dem NRW-Impulse-Preis ausgezeichnet, Deadline (2004), Wallenstein – eine dokumentarische Inszenierung (2006) und Situation Rooms (2013) wurden zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. Beim Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis wurde Karl Marx: Das Kapital. Erster Band 2007 sowohl mit dem Publikumspreis als auch dem Mülheimer Dramatiker Preis ausgezeichnet, sowie Qualitätskontrolle 2014 mit dem Publikumspreis.

Weitere Auszeichnungen für Rimini Protokoll: Deutscher Theaterpreis Der Faust (2007), Europäischer Theaterpreis in der Kategorie Neue Realitäten (2008), Hörspielpreis der Kriegsblinden für Karl Marx: Das Kapital, Erster Band (2008). Silberner Löwe der 41. Theaterbiennale Venedig (2011), Deutscher Hörspielpreis der ARD (2014), Deutscher Hörbuchpreis (2015), Schweizer Grand Prix Theater / Hans-Reinhardt-Ring (2015).