100% Brooklyn

By Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

For statistical purposes, people are regularly converted into pie wedges, bars and curves – which are then used to make political arguments or to create economic cost-benefit strategies. What if these statistics were given faces? What if the 2.6 million residents that make up Brooklyn’s population was represented on stage by 100 persons?

Your view of the Brooklyn may vary widely depending on what neighborhood you live in, how much money you make and what religion you have. The city in a city means radically different things to different people because of how they experience it—beliefs, politics, concerns are often the results of people's isolated experiences. 

Everyone knows there are others who differ radically from themselves—they can read the statistics. But what happens when those "statistics" share a stage together? What happens when those hot button issues are addressed live to 100 true representatives of the cross section of the city? What side of the pie chart would you walk to? Who will stand apart? Who will fall back into the majority?

One hundred Brooklynites take the stage. Together, they reflect the makeup of the city, each selected because they mirror the demographics of 1% of the borough.

Spreading throughout the borough, 100% Brooklyn will begin with the casting of one member who has to recruit another in 24 hours, who then recruits another and so on – all according to specific criteria of age, gender, household type, ethnicity and address mirroring the demographic make-up the New York City’s largest and fastest growing borough.

Part experimental theater and part interactive event, the participants come together to share stories and give their opinions on a range of issues—from whimsical preferences to painful truths—painting a living picture of the city in all its complexities, contradictions, and unabashed attitude. It is Brooklyn, after all.

 

Concept: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel 
Direction: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi
With: 100% Brooklynites
Stage: Mascha Mazur / Marc Jungreithmeier 
Light design / Video: Bodo Gottschalk
Sound design: Niki Neecke
Live Band: Super Yamba

Production management: Maitén Arns

100% Brooklyn

Von Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

Für statistische Zwecke werden Menschen regelmäßig in Kuchenkeile, Balken und Kurven umgerechnet - die dann für politische Argumente oder wirtschaftliche Kosten-Nutzen-Strategien verwendet werden. Was wäre, wenn diese Statistiken Gesichter bekämen? Was wäre, wenn die 2,6 Millionen Einwohner, die Brooklyns Bevölkerung ausmachen, mit 100 Personen auf der Bühne vertreten wären?

Ihre Sicht auf Brooklyn kann sehr unterschiedlich sein, je nachdem, in welcher Nachbarschaft Sie leben, wie viel Geld Sie verdienen und welche Religion Sie haben. Die Stadt in einer Stadt bedeutet für verschiedene Menschen radikal unterschiedliche Dinge, weil sie sie so erleben - Glauben, Politik, Sorgen sind oft das Ergebnis von isolierten Erfahrungen der Menschen. 

Jeder weiß, dass es andere gibt, die sich radikal von sich selbst unterscheiden – das läßt sich in Statistiken nachlesen. Aber was passiert, wenn diese "Statistiken" zusammen eine Bühne teilen? Was passiert, wenn diese heißen Eisen live von 100 echte Vertreter der Stadt verhandelt werden? Auf welcher Seite des Tortendiagramms würden Sie gehen? Wer wird Abseits stehen? Wer wird in die Mehrheit bilden?

Einhundert Brooklyniten betreten die Bühne. Zusammen spiegeln sie die Zusammensetzung der Stadt wider, jeder einzelne ausgewählt, weil sie die Demographie von 1% des Stadtteils widerspiegeln.

Verteilt über den gesamten Stadtbezirk, wird 100% Brooklyn mit der Besetzung eines Protagonisten beginnen, der innerhalb von 24 Stunden einen weiteren Teilnehmer rekrutieren muss, der dann einen weiteren ins Spiel bringt usw. - alles nach bestimmten Kriterien wie Alter, Geschlecht, Haushaltstyp, ethnische Zugehörigkeit und Wohnort, die die demographische Zusammensetzung des größten und am schnellsten wachsenden Stadtbezirks von New York City widerspiegeln.

Konzept: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel 
Regie: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi
Mit: 100% Brooklynites
Bühne: Mascha Mazur / Marc Jungreithmeier 
Light design / Video: Bodo Gottschalk
Sound design: Niki Neecke
Live Band: Super Yamba

Production management: Maitén Arns