50 kilometres of files

- A walk-in Stasi radio play

By Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

In German language only.

App-Download für Android
App-Download im itunes Store

Rimini Protokoll haul the Stasi files out of the archives and into the city’s present: About a hundred people in Berlin’s Mitte district are surveyed and for the microphone recollect or reconstruct observations of the sites where the misdeeds were perpetrated. A strange picture-puzzle is created for the users, who have the everyday life familiar to us now in view and original recordings from that time in their ears. 

Using Smartphones, the visitors on foot become "insiders", entering into history. This dive into the Cold War era of mistrust becomes palpable with the bureaucratic procedures of applying for files and filling out forms and reading what people in your immediate environment set down about your life, all of which is superimposed onto today’s Berlin. How do the surveillance reports sound at the site of their recording for those who were then under surveillance and how fast does the initially uninvolved observer become an active player?

On a website, 100 "acoustic bubbles" are shown scattered across a map of Berlin’s Mitte district. Listeners and walkers experience the city as an audible and highly-subjective archive. Moving alone or in groups, visitors on foot and online have to get to grips with the role of the surveillance authority in a search for the audio portals to the city below the city.

 

www.dradio-ortung.de

Prix Ars Electronica 2012: Honorary Mention Hybrid Art

Nominated for the Grimme Online Award 2012

A project by Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi and Daniel Wetzel (Rimini Protokoll)
Part of "Radioortung - Hörspiele für Selbstläufer" (Radio positioning – radio plays for independent explorers)

Research / Dramaturgy: Sebastian Brünger

Research assistant: Michael Hoh

Technical production manager: Falco Ewald

Production manager: Heidrun Schlegel, Katja Sonnemann
Assistant production manager: Elise v. Bernstorff
Voice: René Stäbler

Director for RADIOORTUNG Deutschlandradio Kultur: Katrin Moll
Application development and interactive map: Udo Noll

A Deutschlandradio Kultur and Rimini Apparat production in co-production with Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin.

Funded by the Governing Mayor of Berlin – Senate Chancellery - Cultural Affairs- and the Federal Commissioner for Cultural and Media Affairs.

With consultancy support from the Office of the Federal Commissioner for Preserving the Records of the State Security Service of the Former German Democratic Republic (BStU) and the Robert-Havemann-Gesellschaft e.V.

In cooperation with Theatertreffen tt11
With generous support from Sony Ericsson.

50 Aktenkilometer

- Ein begehbares Stasi-Hörspiel

Von Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

App-Download für Android
App-Download im itunes Store

Für ihr Stück ziehen Rimini Protokoll Stasi-Akten aus den Archiven in die Gegenwart der Stadt. An die hundert Menschen wurden in Berlin-Mitte befragt, erinnern sich oder rekonstruieren am Mikrofon Beobachtungen. Wie hören sich Protokolle der Observation am Ort ihrer Aufnahme für den damals Observierten an und wie schnell wird man vom vorerst Unbeteiligten zum aktiven Mitspieler? 
Mit dem Blick auf die vertraute Alltäglichkeit der Stadt und den O-Tönen von damals im Ohr, stellt sich ein seltsames Vexierbild her: wie leicht ist es, einer banalen Handlung einen doppelten Boden zu unterstellen, wie schnell wird etwas amtlich und unzweifelhaft, weil es einmal schriftlich festgehalten wurde? Mitten in der Lifestyle Kapitale Berlin stoßen die Hörer bei ihrem Spaziergang auf Observationsberichte, Persönlichkeitsbilder, Operativpläne, Gedächtnisprotokolle und Originaltöne aus den Archiven. 

Über 100 - akustische Blasen- sind in Form von Audiodateien auf der Google-Map von Berlin verteilt. Mit Hilfe ihrer Smartphones werden die Besucher als Fußgänger zu "Eingeweihten", die in die Geschichte tauchen. Über das Smartphone sind sie jederzeit ortbar und lösen bei ihrem Spaziergang durch die Stadt die Audio-Dokumente aus und machen sie so hörbar - für ihre eigenen Ohren aber auch für die Personen, die sie online beschatten und ihre Bewegungen auf der virtuellen Karte verfolgen können. 

 

Prix Ars Electronica 2012: Honorary Mention Hybrid Art

Nominiert für den Grimme Online Award 2012

Ein Projekt von: Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel (Rimini Protokoll)
im Rahmen von: Radioortung - Hörspiele für Selbstläufer

Recherche / Dramaturgie: Sebastian Brünger
Mitarbeit Recherche: Michael Hoh
Technische Produktionsleitung: Falco Ewald
Produktionsleitung: Heidrun Schlegel, Katja Sonnemann
Produktionsassistenz: Elise v. Bernstorff
Stimme: René Stäbler

Leitung RADIOORTUNG Deutschlandradio Kultur: Katrin Moll
Entwicklung Applikation und interaktive Karte: Udo Noll

Eine Produktion von Deutschlandradio Kultur und Rimini Apparat in Koproduktion mit dem Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin.

Gefördert durch den Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin –Senatskanzlei–Kulturelle Angelegenheiten und den Beauftragen der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.

Mit beratender Unterstützung der Stasi-Unterlagen-Behörde und der Robert-Havemann-Gesellschaft e.V.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Theatertreffen tt11
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Sony Ericsson.