100% Stellenbosch

By Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

Your view of the South African city Stellenbosch may vary widely depending on what neighborhood you live in, how much money you make and what skin colour you have, which language you speak. The city means radically different things to different people because of how they experience it—beliefs, politics, concerns are often the results of people's isolated experiences. 

51% of the population in Stellenbosch is female, 25% is younger than 15, whereas there are only 5% older than 66.  16% of the official 155.733 inhabitants live in the centre of the university city and only 2% of them are born in Asia. 21% speak mainly isisXhosa.

For statistical purposes, people are regularly converted into pie wedges, bars and curves – which are then used to make political arguments or to create economic cost-benefit strategies. What if these statistics were given faces? What if Stellenbosch’s population was represented on stage by 100 persons?

Everyone knows there are others who differ radically from themselves—they can read the statistics. But what happens when those "statistics" share a stage together? What happens when those hot button issues are addressed live to 100 true representatives of the cross section of the city? What side of the pie chart would you walk to? Who will stand apart? Who will fall back into the majority?

Spreading throughout the city over three months ago, 100% Stellenbosch began with the casting of one member who had to recruit another in 24 hours, who then recruited another and so on – all according to specific criteria of age, gender, household type, geography, language and population group mirroring the demographic make-up South African's „City of Oaks“. 

100% Stellenbosch - a gathering that is a city, a group just beginning to experience itself, a choir that has never practiced, an impossible entity with many faces – assembled into ever-changing new group pictures: group pictures as replacement for family – as fleeting portraits of belonging.  

 

 

Direction: Helgard Haug, Daniel Wetzel
Stage: Mascha Mazur, Marc Jungreithmeier
Technical Director / light / video: Andreas Mihan
Sound: Frank Böhle
Band: Schalk Joubert
Research and Casting: Vida Viljoen

100% Stellenbosch is produced by the US Woordfees in co-production with Rimini Protokoll

100% Stellenbosch

Von Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel

Der Blick auf die südafrikanische Stadt Stellenbosch kann sehr unterschiedlich sein: je nachdem in welcher Gegend Sie leben, wie viel Geld Sie verdienen, welche Hautfarbe Sie haben oder welche Sprache Sie sprechen. Die Stadt bedeutet für die verschiedenen Menschen radikal unterschiedliche Dinge, abhängig davon, wie Sie sie erleben - Überzeugungen, politische Einstellungen und Sorgen sind oft das Resultat von Isolation.

51% der Bevölkerung in Stellenbosch ist weiblich, 25% ist jünger als 15, während nur 5% älter als 66 sind. 16% der offiziellen 155.733 Einwohner leben im Zentrum der Universitätsstadt und nur 2% von ihnen sind in Asien geboren. 21% sprechen überwiegend isisXhosa.

Zu statistischen Zwecken werden Menschen regelmäßig in Tortenstücke, Balkendiagramme und Kurven umgewandelt, aus denen dann politische Argumente abgeleitet oder wirtschaftliche Kosten-Nutzen-Strategien erstellt werden. Was wäre, wenn diese Statistiken Gesichter bekommen würden? Was wäre, wenn Stellenboschs Bevölkerung auf der Bühne von 100 Personen vertreten wäre?

Jeder weiß, dass es andere gibt, die sich radikal von sich selbst unterscheiden - sie können die Statistiken lesen. Aber was passiert, wenn diese "Statistiken" gemeinsam eine Bühne teilen? Was passiert, wenn diese heißen Eisen live an 100 repräsentative Vertreter der Stadt gestellt werden? Auf welche Seite des Tortendiagramms würden Sie gehen? Wer wird abseits stehen? Wer wird sich hinter der Mehrheit verstecken?

Vor über drei Monaten begann der Castingprozess für 100% Stellenbosch mit der Nominierung des ersten Teilnehmers. Diese Person hat die Aufgabe innerhalb von 24 Stunden eine weitere zu nominieren, der dann einen anderen nach den Kriterien Alter, Geschlecht, Haushaltstyp und Geografie und Sprache auswählt usw. Die 100 ausgesuchten Teilnehmer spiegeln schließlich die demographische Zusammensetzung Südafrikas "City of Oaks" wider.

100% Stellenbosch ist eine Ansammlung, die eine Stadt ist, eine Gruppe, die sich erst wahrzunehmen beginnt, ein Chor, der noch nie geübt hat, ein unmögliches Gebilde mit vielen Gesichtern auf 100 Quadratmetern Bühne...

Regie: Helgard Haug, Daniel Wetzel
Bühne: Mascha Mazur, Marc Jungreithmeier
Tchnische Leitung / Licht / Video: Andreas Mihan
Sound: Frank Böhle
Band: Schalk Joubert
Recherche und Casting: Vida Viljoen

100% Stellenbosch ist eine Produktion von US Woordfees in Ko-Produktion mit Rimini Protokoll