Rimini Protokoll

Helgard Kim Haug, Stefan Kaegi and Daniel Wetzel form a team of author-directors since 2000. Their works in the realm of theater, sound and radio plays, film and installation emerge in constellations of two or three and solo as well. Since 2002, all their works have been written collectively under the label Rimini Protokoll. At the focus of their work is the continuous development of the tools of the theater to allow unusual perspectives on our reality.

For example, Haug/Kaegi/Wetzel have declared a Daimler Shareholder Meeting to be a piece of theater or staged 100 % Stadt (100 % City) with 100 statistically representative residents of cities like Berlin, Zurich, London, Melbourne, Copenhagen, or San Diego. In Berlin and Dresden, they developed accessible Stasi installations/sound plays in which the observation protocols could be listened to on android telephones. In Hamburg they staged "Weltklimakonferenz - a simulation of the UN Conference on climate change. At the moment they are creating the tetralogy 'Staat 1-4' and focus on post-democratic phenomena.

They have been awarded the NRW Impulse Preis for Shooting Bourbaki (2003); Deadline (2004), Wallenstein – eine dokumentarische Inszenierung (2006) and Situation Rooms (2014) were invited to the Berliner Theatertreffen. Schwarzenbergplatz was nominated for the Austrian theater prize Nestroy in 2005. Mnemopark was awarded the Jury Prize at the festival “Politik im freien Theater” in Berlin in 2005, and in 2007 Karl Marx: Das Kapital. Erster Band (Haug / Wetzel) won both the audience prize at Festival Stücke 2007 and the Mülheimer Dramatiker Preis that same year.

In November 2007, they were awarded a special prize at the Deutscher Theaterpreis Der Faust, in April 2008 they were awarded the European Theatre Prize for the category “new realities.” In 2008, they were awarded the Hörspielpreis der Kriegsblinden for Karl Marx: Das Kapital, Erster Band (Peymannbeschimpfung was also nominated).

Rimini Protokoll was awarded the Faust Theatre Prize in 2007, the European Prize for New Theatre Forms in 2008 and in 2011 the silver lion of the Biennale for Performing Arts in Venice. The multi-player video-installation "Situation Rooms" about the weapon-industry received the Excellence Award of the 17th Japan Media Festival. In 2014, Helgard Haug und Daniel Wetzel were awarded the "Deutscher Hörspielpreis der ARD" and received the "Deutscher Hörbuchpreis der ARD" in 2015. And in 2015 Stefan Kaegi and Rimini Protokoll got the Swiss Grand Prix of Theatre.

Rimini Protokoll is based at HAU, Berlin, since 2003.

Rimini Protokoll

Helgard Kim Haug, Stefan Kaegi und Daniel Wetzel bilden seit 2000 ein Autoren-Regie-Team. Ihre Arbeiten im Bereich Theater, Hörspiel, Film, Installation entstehen in Zweier- und Dreier-Konstellationen sowie Solo. Seit 2002 werden all ihre Arbeiten unter dem Label Rimini Protokoll zusammengefasst und angekündigt. Im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit steht die Weiterentwicklung der Mittel des Theaters, um ungewöhnliche Sichtweisen auf unsere Wirklichkeit zu ermöglichen.

So erklären Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel eine Daimler Hauptversammlung zum Theaterstück oder inszenieren unter anderem in Berlin, Zürich, London, Melbourne, Kopenhagen oder San Diego mit hundert statistisch repräsentativ ausgewählten Bürgern 100% Stadt. In Berlin und Dresden entwickelten sie begehbare Stasi-Hörspiele, in denen die Observationsprotokolle per Androidtelefon abhörbar wurden. Oder inszenierten für das Schauspielhaus Hamburg eine „Weltklimakonferenz“ als Simulation eines UN-Gipfels für jeweils 650 Zuschauer, aufgeteilt in 196 Länderdelegationen. Zur Zeit inszenieren sie die Tetralogie Staat 1-4 über post-demokratische Phänomene.

Von ihren Stücken wurde Shooting Bourbaki 2003 mit dem NRW-Impulse-Preis ausgezeichnet, Deadline (2004), Wallenstein – eine dokumentarische Inszenierung (2006) und Situation Rooms (2014) wurden zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen, Schwarzenbergplatz (2005) für den Österreichischen Theaterpreis Nestroy nominiert. Mnemopark wurde mit dem Jurypreis beim Berliner Festival Politik im freien Theater 2005 ausgezeichnet und Karl Marx: Das Kapital. Erster Band (Haug / Wetzel) gewann 2007 beim Festival Stücke sowohl den Publikumspreis als auch den Mülheimer Dramatiker Preis 2007.

Im November 2007 erhielten Haug / Kaegi / Wetzel einen Sonderpreis des Deutschen Theaterpreises DER FAUST, im April 2008 wurde ihnen in Thessaloniki der Europäische Theaterpreis in der Kategorie Neue Realitäten verliehen. 2008 erhielten Helgard Haug und Daniel Wetzel den Hörspielpreis der Kriegsblinden für Karl Marx: Das Kapital, Erster Band (nominiert war ebenfalls Peymannbeschimpfung).

2011 wurde das Gesamtwerk von Rimini Protokoll mit dem Silbernen Löwen der 41. Theaterbiennale Venedig ausgezeichnet. 2014 erhielten Helgard Haug und Daniel Wetzel den Deutschen Hörspielpreis der ARD und 2015 den Deutschen Hörbuchpreis der ARD. 2015 erhielten Stefan Kaegi und Rimini Protokoll den Grand Prix des Schweizer Theatertreffens.
Seit 2003 haben Rimini Protokoll in Berlin ihr Hauptquartier aufgeschlagen und ihr Produktionsbüro im Hebbel am Ufer.